top of page

Browse topics

submarine port hole

The Deep Sea Zones

The deep sea is divided into zones, each home to an array of uniquely specialised life.

The sunlight zone

Epipelagic Zone | 0 - 700 ft (200m)

The twilight zone

Mesopelagic Zone | 700 - 3,300 ft (1,000m)

The midnight zone

Bathypelagic Zone | 3,300 - 13,100 ft (4,000m)

greenland shark sleeper shark

The abyss

Abyssopelagic Zone | 13,100 - 19,700 ft (6,000m)


More topics

bottom of page